I started out as a luddite…

Luddite: The Luddites were a social movement of British textile artisans in the nineteenth century who protested – often by destroying mechanized looms – against the changes produced by the Industrial Revolution, which they felt was leaving them without work and changing their way of life. It took its name from the fictional King Ludd. [SOURCE: Wikipedia]

I must have been about seven years old when I had a dream that would shape the rest of my days.  Certainly, there were other factors that went into this dream.  Take that I was young and impressionable and living in the early seventies amidst black lights, velvet paintings, and beads in the doorways.

The dream went like this:

I am walking down an avenue in a city.  It’s not a big city but it is urban and concrete dominates what the eye can see, almost.  For there is a new force on the scene, or a re-emerging one.  The streets and sidewalks crack and split open and greenery is seen to be experiencing a renewal.  Small trees can be seen peeking through some of the larger cracks in the street and a mosaic of cement and tough grasses and wild shrubs lead the eye to a long line of old and decrepit storefronts.  It used to be a sidewalk.

Nature is reclaiming and the scarification of our Mother’s face is healing.  Civilization has fallen.  In my heart, even at that tender age, I knew it was a good thing.

I awake with a sense of hope and purpose.  I still feel that to this day.

Please have a gander at my blogroll.  I think you will be pleased that you did.

PEACE!

One Response to “I started out as a luddite…”

  1. Excellent to have you back, brother….

Leave a Reply

